Spirit

Louis XIII

Many of the spirits I’ve tasted, purchased and used fall into a category that some would consider expensive. Last week, I was lucky enough to try something that almost all would place into the rare category of expensive. Most would prefix it with that other ex-word, extremely.

Louis XIII is a cognac, meaning it has to be produced according to strict rules using grapes of a certain type, double distilled to form an eaux de vie. in making Louis XIII, 1,200 of these are blended together and aged for a minimum of 55 years.

The marketing for Louis is evocative, “Taste the Century in a bottle”

As a rule, I’m pretty cynical of liquor branding that has this tone. Most often, the floral descriptions are really imaginative extrapolations of the hints in the spirit itself. Sitting with a snifter of this spirit, I think tasting a century is pretty apt.

This has real depth, and more than anything, the scent and experience communicates a real history. I got lost in it, I could have sat there, sniffing at it until the liquid evaporated completely. I certainly don’t know enough to describe it in more detail than that, but I’ve a curiosity about me that means I’ll spend some time finding out.

Costly? Yes. Worth it? Absolutely.

Standard

One thought on “Louis XIII

  1. Was lucky enough to try this last year at a tasting put together by Glengary. Sensational.

    To me the unique thing about it was that it didn’t taste anything like the XO. It wasn’t a ‘smoother’, ‘richer’, ‘whatever’ version of one of their existing products. It is just a totally different beast.

    It reminded me a little of a pisco. There was a weird thing going on there, like it had been aged so long it had started tasting young again. Alongside the expected woodiness, there was just tons of fruitiness in there.

    If I had the cash I’d splurge on a bottle.

    Oh, and I would love to try it in a Sidecar, perhaps with a splash of egg-white to take it in a Pisco-sour-ish direction. That would be quite a drink.

Leave a Reply

